Welcome to



Who Are We?

The Universities’ Transport Study Group (UTSG), initiated by the late Professor R.J. Smeed of University College London in 1967, aims to promote transport teaching and research and to act as a focus for those involved in these activities in universities and institutions of higher education in the UK and Ireland.

Annual Conference

An annual conference for staff, research students and other relative newcomers to transport research of member institutions and overseas universities, which is designed to discuss research needs, research in progress, and to give research students the opportunity to present papers on their work.


Our archive goes as far back as 1969. Since 2006 we have been uploading pdf conference papers to the website and once you are a member, free to view.


2012 Smeed Prize winners

Congratulations to Jessica Van Ristell, from Loughborough University, who won the Smeed Prize at the 44th University Transport Studies Group Conference, held at the University of Aberdeen from 4-6 January 2012, and to Moataz Mahmoud, from the University of Ulster, who was awarded the 2nd prize. Jessica’s paper was titled ‘Modelling the Effects of Changing […]

© Copyright - UTSG