2018 Smeed Prize Winners

Congratulations to Michael Nattrass of UCL who won the Smeed Prize at the 50th Universities’ Transport Study Group Conference, hosted by UCL in London between 3-5 January 2018. Two joint second prize winners this year were Shuo Li of Newcastle University and Hannah Budnitz of the University of Birmingham.
Michael Nattrass’ paper was entitled: Infrastructuring when Cycling: How those Cycling, Walking and Driving come to justify the everyday use of the Public Highway.
Shuo Li’s paper was entitled: Investigating the effects of age and driving disengagement level on drivers’ take-over control performance in Highly Automated Vehicles.
Hannah Budnitz’ paper was entitled: Exploring the Influence of Weather on the Choice Not to Travel.
Eight students competed for the prize this year and the judges commended the high standard of entries received.