2021 Smeed Prize Winners

Congratulations to the 2021 Smeed Prize winner, Elena Alyavina, Doctoral Researcher at the University of Huddersfield! Alyavina’s paper was entitled ‘Understanding the effects of Mobility-as-a-Service on Car Dependence.’ The paper presented the results of a quantitative survey of travel behaviour intentions in the UK, and drew attention to potential unsustainable travel practices which MaaS-based policies would need to mitigate against. The panel, chaired by Prof John Preston of the University of Southampton, commended the timely and valuable insights of Alyavina’s work.

Jonathan Flower, Research Associate at the University of the West of England, was awarded second place for the paper entitled ‘An investigation of the relationships between behaviour, design, and regulation in the street environment.’