2022 Smeed Prize Winners

Congratulations to the 2022 Smeed Prize winner, Ian Greenwood, Doctoral Researcher at the University of Leeds! Greenwood’s paper was entitled ‘The politics of road death in Britain: are we still complacent?

The runner-up was Sayed Faruque, Doctoral Researcher at Edinburgh Napier University, for the paper ‘Determinants of shared ownership and use of driverless cars in Edinburgh

Annual UTSG conference 2022 announced

The 54th Annual UTSG Conference will be hosted by Edinburgh Napier University, and will take place between 4 and 6 July 2022. More details can be found here.

Annual UTSG conference 2021 announced

The 53rd Annual UTSG Conference will be hosted by Loughborough University, and will take place online on 5 and 6 July 2021. More details can be found here.

2020 Smeed Prize Winners

Congratulations to the 2020 Smeed Prize winner, Aditya Tafta Nugraha from the University of Southampton. Tafta’s paper was entitled “Unravelling the dynamics behind the urban morphology of port-cities using a LUTI model based on cellular automata”. Tafta’s research aims to investigate the urban dynamics influencing land use distribution in the context of port cities. He […]

Smeed Prize Winners, 2019

Congratulations to Fredrik Monsuur of Loughborough University who won the Smeed Prize at the 51st Annual UTSG Conference, hosted by the University of Leeds. The second place winner, also from Loughborough University, was Nicolette Formosa. Fredrik’s paper was entitled “Quantifying the impact of train delays on passenger satisfaction”, while Nicolette’s was entitled “Vehicle-level conflict detection using deep learning”. Both students, and their supervisors, are to be commended for the quality of their work.

Nicolette Formosa (2nd Prize) and Fredrik Monsuur (1st Prize)

2018 Smeed Prize Winners

Congratulations to Michael Nattrass of UCL who won the Smeed Prize at the 50th Universities’ Transport Study Group Conference, hosted by UCL in London between 3-5 January 2018. Two joint second prize winners this year were Shuo Li of Newcastle University and Hannah Budnitz of the University of Birmingham.
Michael Nattrass’ paper was entitled: Infrastructuring when Cycling: How those Cycling, Walking and Driving come to justify the everyday use of the Public Highway.
Shuo Li’s paper was entitled: Investigating the effects of age and driving disengagement level on drivers’ take-over control performance in Highly Automated Vehicles.
Hannah Budnitz’ paper was entitled: Exploring the Influence of Weather on the Choice Not to Travel.
Eight students competed for the prize this year and the judges commended the high standard of entries received.